Sunday, August 2, 2015

Durban International Film Festival Award Winners 2015

All The Winners

The international jury this year was led by former Manager of the DIFF and current Director of the Sydney Film Festival, Nashen Moodley and included prolific and award-winning South African filmmaker Robbie Thorpe, South African producer of numerous award-winning films who sits on the advisory panel for NFVF, Moroba Nkawe and award-winning Nigerian filmmaker, Newton Aduaka.
The South African feature film jury consisted of film-makers Lizelle Bischoff, Thandeka Zwana and Jenna Cato Bass while the documentary jurors were film-makers Annalet Steenkamp and Sylvia Vollenhoven and the short film jurors were film-makers Darryl Els, Zandi Tisani and Terrence Dalisu Ngobese.

Best Feature Film - Sunrise directed by Partho Sen-Gupta. 

Best South African Feature Film - Necktie Youth directed by Sibs Shongwe-La Mer, 

Best Direction - Shongwe La-Mer for Necktie Youth

Best Documentary and Best SA Documentary - Beats of the Antonov directed by Hajooj Kuka and The Dream of the Shahrazad directed by Francois Verster, respectively. 

Best Actor - Didier Michon for his performance in Fevers directed by Hicham Ayouch 

Best Actress -  Anissa Daoud for Tunisian Spring directed by Raja Amari.
Best African Short Film award went to The Aftermath of the Inauguration of the Public Toilet at Kilometre 375 directed by Omar el Zohairy. 
Best South African Short Film - Unomalanga and The Witch 
Production Merit Award, - Rights of Passage 
Best Screenplay Award - Sabrina Compeyron and David Constantin for Sugar Cane Shadows directed by David Constantin.

Jean-Marc Ferriere, took the honours for Best Cinematography “for creating a distinctive, atmospheric, highly-crafted and visually dynamic world depicted almost entirely in the dark”, inSunrise directed by Partho Sen-Gupta.
Special Mention for Direction was made of Kivu Ruhorahoza for Things Of The Aimless Wanderer, “for a courageous and single-minded attempt by a director harnessing all means at his disposal to tell a personal, intricate and political story.”
Special Mention for Best Film was given to Tunisian Spring by Raja Amari, “for it’s powerful depiction of an event that has, and continues to have, resonance in the world.”
Democrats directed by Camilla Nielssongot a Special Mention for a Documentary, which is “commended for putting a human face on a story that is complex and sometimes almost opaque.”
The Amnesty International Durban Human Rights Award for the film that best reflects human rights issues which comes with a cash prize of R10 000 donated by the Artists for the Human Rights Trust went to The Shore Break, directed by Ryley Grunenwald. The jury citation reads “The film powerfully portrays a struggle within a local community regarding foreign mining rights in a pristine environment…(and) concisely and movingly uncovers this complex and urgent matter, which is still under investigation and in need of public support.”
A further Amnesty International Durban Human Rights Honorary Award was given to The Look of Silence directed by Joshua Oppenheimer, a film that “bravely uncovers the genocide in Indonesia in the 1960’s.”
The jurors for these awards were Nonhlanhla Mkhize, Betty Rawheath, Professor Lindy Stiebel and Coral Vinsen, convener of the jury panel.
Arterial Network’s Artwatch Africa Award, for an African film that meaningfully engages with the issues of freedom of expression, went to Beats of the Antonov, directed by Hajooj Kuka, who was presented a cash prize of R15 000. The jury citation said  “This compelling film shows how the power of music, dancing and culture sustains the displaced people living in the remote war-ravaged areas of Southern Sudan.”
The Jury included Junaid Ahmed, Gcina Mhlophe, René Alicia Smith, and Peter Rorvik.
The DIFF Audience Award went to The Shore Break directed by Ryley Grunenwald.
For more information go to 

No comments:

Post a Comment